Green Enchilada Sauce Recipe

This post is long overdue. BUT I’m finally getting around to posting my green enchilada sauce recipe. I did a lot of google searching before I found a recipe that looked easy and delicious.

Here’s the link: Our Best Bites. I used her recipe and modified it a bit.

Green Enchilada Sauce

2-3 tbsp. olive oil (I used mediterranean oil)
1 large onion, minced
6 cloves garlic, minced
3 jalapenos, seeded and membranes removed
1 1/2 lb. tomatillos, husked and quartered
1/2 bunch cilantro, chopped
1 1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. black pepper
1 1/2 tsp. cumin
4 cups chicken broth
2-3 tbsp. sugar (optional)

In a large saucepan, heat olive oil over medium heat. Saute onions and garlic until tender.

In a seperate large stock pot, combine tomatillos, green peppers, jalapeno peppers, and cilantro. I used a hand blender and processed until smooth. I added chicken broth slowly to make things blend more easily. (you can also throw these ingredients into a blender and process that way too!)

Combine the sauteed onions and garlic with the tomatillo mixture, into the large stock pot. Add the remaining chicken broth, salt, pepper and cumin. Simmer 30 min-1 hour, depending on the consistency you want. I kept the heat on high and boiled it uncovered until it reached the consistency I desired, which only took about 30 minutes. You can simmer on low or medium for a longer amount of time if desired.

Once the sauce reaches the consistency you desire, voila! You’re done. This recipe yields approximately 5-6 cups of sauce. If ya’ll have any questions, just leave me a comment. I hope you guys enjoy this green enchilada sauce as much as I do!

 

Leave a Reply

